blurbinsuburbia

Just me 'blurbing' about life..past, present & future…family, ancestry, books, sport, crafts…whatever pops into my head!

Listography: Cook Books

on Tuesday 13 March 2012

When it comes down to it, I probably love the idea of cooking more than the ‘actual’ doing…I don’t think this was always the case as from attending Catering College at 16, I have never really been far away from the Food & Hospitality Industry. With stints in Formula 1 hospitality and now currently working for a top London caterer, I would consider myself a real ‘foodie’…but more the ‘eating’ side of things than the production.  Since being on maternity for the 3rd time, cooking seems to have become more of a chore than a pleasure, with having just cleared away from one meal catering for all age ranges from weaning baby to hungry husband, I’m already having to think of the next one…3 x’s a day, 7 days a week, it has kind of lost a bit of that magic due to time constraints.

So I’m really pleased that Kate Takes 5 has chosen fave Cook Books for her Listography topic this week as it has prompted me to fall in love with my recipes again…here’s my Top 5…

1. Tana Ramsay’s Family Kitchen

Image

I turn to this book regularly and have some faves that I know the kids will eat and are very easy to do…still loads I haven’t tried but look delicious so will get round to it one day!

2. Nigella Lawson’s Nigella Express

Image

I like Nigella and I love her food…I always have the ingredients for her Rocky Road in my cupboard and often make it when I need a bit of a pick-me-up…my copy is still in storage since moving house but it’s all on the internet thankfully.

3. Bill Granger’s Simply Bill

Image

I love his books and style of cooking…it really is so ‘laid back Aussie /outdoor lifestyle’, a real tonic to counteract our somewhat dreary winter weather.  I make his coconut bread regularly, served toasted with lime marmalade, it’s to die for (actual recipe in another of his books) and again, my copy still in storage 😦

4. Various!

Image

Ok, so this one is a bit of a cheat but I am a sucker for those freebie recipe cards found in all the supermarkets and any similar free magazines…my husband despairs of me as they are in a big messy heap in the kitchen most of the time.  I have to confess to making about 5% of the ones I have but they are good for inspiration.

5. The Hummingbird Bakery’s Cake Days

Image

I just bought this last week…it was such a pretty coloured cover and I love cake so it was a simple impulse buy…I have yet to bake anything from it…still too busy working my way through the freebie recipe cards!

I hope you like my selection and I look forward to looking at everyone else’s…between the Mugs & this weeks Listography, I feel like I have visited all your kitchens…wierd!!

PS…just in case you feel affronted that I have missed the deity that is Delia off my list…I haven’t…See No.4, I have her Waitrose recipe cards…!

Photobucket

12 responses to “Listography: Cook Books

  1. Sarah says:

    Good choices! 🙂 The Hummingbird Bakery book has caught my eye recently, I’m waiting for it to crop up on an offer/discount then I will have to buy it.

  2. Claire@Mummy Plum says:

    Really interesting list. I’ve always wanted to have a good look at the Tana Ramsey book – I figure she must have picked up a good few tips after being with Gordon for so many years. I’m definitely search it out next time I’m in a bookshop. You did make me smile with your comment about clearing away one meal and then having to think about the next one – so true!

  3. Blue Sky says:

    That cake book looks fabulous and I’m fascinated by how many listographers prefer Tana Ramsay’s book over her husband’s 🙂

  4. Claire T says:

    Yes I must try the Hummingbird Cafe and Tana Ramsay books. So mant fellow listographers can’t be wrong!

  5. Jennifer says:

    The Hummingbird book is so pretty! I also have a big folder of recipes cut from magazines which I keep in a big pile and very rarely actually go through to cook anything!

  6. I’ve thought about buying the Hummingbird Bakery one but I decided that it would be too catastrophic for my waistine!

  7. actuallymummy says:

    Oooh Nigella express nearly made it onto my list too – I love her ragu recipe in there

Leave a Reply

