blurbinsuburbia

Just me 'blurbing' about life..past, present & future…family, ancestry, books, sport, crafts…whatever pops into my head!

…Way back when…!

on Tuesday 3 April 2012

I am a hoarder…in fact, that word probably doesn’t do myself justice…I am far bigger/better/worse/weird than a hoarder depending on whether you are for or against!

I just don’t throw anything away and still have insignificant items dating back to pre-Secondary school.  I love nothing better than to go up in the loft and just sit and go through old bags & boxes of ‘stuff’…a wee trip down memory lane can often turn into a ‘Gap year’ of sifting through old relics…it would probably bore anyone else to death apart from the people who were there at the time!

This is why I love  http://saveeverystep.wordpress.com and have decided to join in with her linky this week…her blog about Playground games took me back to my lovely village school where we had some very strange favourite games…would love to know if anyone else did these:

French Skipping: This was a more obvious one but I remember playing it for yonks…loved it..”in, out, in, off, jump, jump, off, hook feet under, over etc, I could complete it now I reckon.  It only required a length of elastic and started at your ankles then went to knees, thighsies & hipsies then back down to thinsies etc.  I will definitely be sharing this one with Little Miss Red when the time comes.

Bead Swapping: I’ve never heard of anyone else playing this outside of our school.  I had various old medicine bottles full of sequins, indian beads, moonstones and loads of random pretty buttons…you just made up your own bartering system of what you would swap for one of your finest semi-precious! Yes, of course, I stil have the box…will have to dig that out of Mum’s loft and post a pic, a beautiful wooden box made by my Dad and so much classier than some of my friends margarine tubs. When my Nana used to come over with her old necklaces, my sister & I used to sit in front of her putting our hands up for which jewel strings we wanted for our collection…weirdo’s!!!

Swing Socks: What was this all about?  Putting a tennis ball in a knee length sock, back to the wall and swinging it side to side so it hit the wall and bounced off, then lifting your leg to bounce it down there…rhyme went something like “What are you doing here, Sir…Catching Polar Bears, Sir…How many Polar Bears did you catch, Sir…1, 2, 3 etc.  The best bit was when your sock toe was so worn from it banging the brick wall that it eventually gave way and your tennis ball went wazzing across the playground.  When it suddenly became a ‘weapon, this was probably about the time of its’ demise!…shame really!

Join on for….?: Walking around the playground linking arms with whoever wanted to play whatever it was you were chanting…”join on for kiss chase, join on for kiss chase”…you never actually got around to playing Kiss Chase, it was all about creating the longest link!!  Oh what fun!!?

There were also loads of rhymes that I remember from ‘hand clap/slap’ rhyming games like…

“You’re the King & I’m the Queen, You’re the one that stole my ring and She walks with a wiggle and a wiggle and a wong, doing the Tennessee, Ping Pang Pong”

“Under the bram bush, down by the sea, sea, sea, True love for you my darling, true love for me, When we get married we’ll raise a family, so a boy for you, a girl for me, umtiddly um pum, pum pum”

“Om, pom, pey, pom-a-lay, pom-a-lassie, om pom pay, om pom pay, zaca-fari, zaca-fari, zaca-fari, poof poof”

“See see my baby, blah blah”, can’t remember more than that but remember the actions.

I’ve taught my 6 year old how to “1 potato, 2 potato, 3 potato, 4, 5 potato, 6 potato, 7 potato more, last spud’s out…” to see who takes the first turn at whatever….he loves it!

I have no idea what the boys were doing while we were doing this nonsense…probably looking at us saying “What the heck is this nonsense these weird girls are playing?”

Take a look at  a few more: http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/studentssite/playgroundrhymes.html that seemed to have survived!

PS….”faynights!”  I don’t even know if they were real words, certainly no idea how it would have been spelt but you would shout it with your fingers crossed which meant no one could ‘get’ you!

One response to “…Way back when…!

  1. Wow! Your memory is awesome! I do remember the french skipping…. Fabulous that you’ve joined the Linky, thank you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

