blurbinsuburbia

Just me 'blurbing' about life..past, present & future…family, ancestry, books, sport, crafts…whatever pops into my head!

…Food, Glorious Food!

on Monday 19 March 2012

Every week I have the same old dilemma of what to feed the family…Image

…3 meals a day, 7 days a week…and a variety of ages to accommodate…it stresses me no end and I just can’t seem to get a handle on it.  I go to the supermarket with a very limited list of things I can actually remember that we’ve run out of…most I don’t remember and  the rest of the things I buy are because I like them or they are on offer…rarely because I have thought of what I am cooking and they are part of the ingredients list!  No wonder our grocery budget is out the window and through the roof!

I must spend hours opening & closing the larder & fridge doors in the hope that inspiration will jump out at me…more usually I realise that there is not much you can make with microwave popcorn, a jar of hollandaise sauce & a pack of mini batternberg cakes!

So how glad was I to see this linky re: meal planning…clearly this was a sign..I must sign up and start to get a little organised when it comes to meals in our house!

OK, deep breath and jump in…off the top of my head (…and desperately trying to think of what is in the larder, fridge & freezer) I will cook the following this week:

Monday: Penne Bolognaise (slight cheat as have just done this meal & had home-cooked sauce in the freezer!)

Tuesday: Moroccan Chicken with couscous

Wednesday: Kedgeree

Thursday: Pasta Bake (no idea what this is just yet but will probably be whatever I can find in the fridge/larder)

Friday: Katsu curry

Looks easy enough…apart from that it doesn’t include lunches or alternatives for Little Miss Red who, at 10mths, is probably not quite up for Katsu Curry yet.  Oh well, it is only my first week so we’ll suck it and see, who knows, I may even take photos!

Cooking with love!

I’m linking this up to Meal Planning Monday over at At Home With Mrs. M.

3 responses to “…Food, Glorious Food!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Meal planning is something that I really should work on, congratulations for coming up with one! I get very stressed and often end up cooking different things for everyone. I keep telling myself it will be easier when the little ones are older and we all eat the same, but the truth is that everyone is so fussy, including my husband, that I think I’m always going to be making different meals for everyone! Your meals sound lovely!

    • …I know…have just realised that my plan was far too basic as here I am, an hour before LUNCH…forgot about that and with a baby to feed…aaggghhhhhhhh! Still none the wiser really…just off to open the larder/fridge doors again!!

  2. Meal planning will change your life! This all looks delicious :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers

